Gregg’s Restaurant

Gregg’s Restaurants and Pubs
1940 Pawtucket Avenue
East ProvidenceRI 02914

Hours
Monday – Thursday 11 a.m. – 11:30 p.m.
Friday 11:30 a.m. – 12 a.m.
Saturday 8 a.m. – 12 a.m.
Sunday 8 a.m. – 11 p.m. 

Phone
401-438-5700

Pictured
1 piece of Death By Chocolate cake (split in 2) $7.86

I’m currently in my hometown due to a family emergency. The other night, after the day was over and my family was settling in for the night, I decided I needed a pick me up. The chocolate kind. Ya know what I mean?

Gregg’s Restaurant and Pub is one of those places that the locals refer to only as “Gregg’s.” To be honest, I didn’t even know it had the “Restaurant and Pub” part on the end and I’ve eaten there a million times. 

Here’s what I know about Gregg’s – a lot of old people eat there. They’ve been eating there for freakin’ years. My Mom gets wistful when she talks about their delectable liver n’ onions and I have clear memories of my parents getting late night dessert cravings and packing the family up to visit their dessert counter.

We’d argue over what to get, but inevitably amongst the eclairs, apple strudel or chocolate chip cookies, there would always be a piece of Death By Chocolate Cake. 

Now, let me just say this about that. There are some desserts that are so decedent, so sinful that they must be treated with respect and caution.

This cake has six layers of doubly, rich chocolate cake. Insanely moist, sandwiched between rich, dark, chocolate fudge icing and sprinkled with chocolate shavings.

Chelsea and I bought one piece and split it right down the middle. Be sure when you eat this cake you have a gallon of milk with you.

I am not a dessert person, but eating this cake is a religious experience that cannot be missed. If you’re in Rhode Island and craving chocolate, stop by Gregg’s to check this creation out. Proceed with caution, and enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

