Fat Matt’s Rib Shack

Fat Matt’s Rib Shack
1180 Piedmont Ave. NE
Atlanta, GA 30324

Phone
Regular: 404-607-1622
Catering: 404-875-2722

Hours
Monday – Thursday 11:30 a.m. – 11:30 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 a.m
Sunday 12:30 p.m. – 11:30 p.m.

Life is funny sometimes. The way in which I ended up at Fat Matt’s Rib Shack for lunch on Sunday is…elaborate. It involves friends from Boston, MA who now live in California, three cross country road trips in less than a year between the four of us and yet somehow we all ended up sitting at a table enjoying BBQ on a beautiful, sunny Sunday in Atlanta.

Located off of Peidmont Ave. only minutes from Midtown, Fat Matt’s Rib Shack is easily spotted due to the line trailing out the door. We got in line and were unsure of how the system worked. We quickly discovered the protocol was to wait in line, order, get your number and then grab a seat. I was concerned seating would be an issue. The line was enormous and there were so many people eating already. I really detest establishments that make eating a hassle. But thankfully, this wasn’t the case. We easily found a table for the four of us and throughout our meal I noticed that even though the line wrapped around half of the building, the timing was such that no one struggled to find a seat. They obviously know what they’re doing.

Two of us ordered the Chopped Pork Sandwich, which came with a side of Lays Chips ($4.20) and also ordered an additional side of Rum Baked Beans ($1.40). Our friends ordered the Half Slab of Ribs ($10.95) with a side of Mac’n’Cheese and Collard Greens (both for $2.25).

Can we all just take a second to look at those prices again? Ridiculous!

I’m going to preface this review with the warning that this is definitely somewhat of a half review. I wasn’t as hungry as I should have been going into this lunch…or else I would have ordered half of the menu!

My pork sandwich was surprisingly delicious. I’ll be honest; I was pretty skeptical approaching this sandwich. It seemed as if there was a lot of BBQ sauce on it, and normally that ruins the sandwich for me. Lucky for me, I was proven completely wrong. Yes, there was BBQ sauce on the meat (which was tangy with the perfect kick of vinegar) but you could easily pick up on the deep smoky taste of the pork. Oh, and it also took all of 2 minutes (no exaggeration) for the food to get put down in front of us from the moment we ordered. No wonder why there’s always a table open…they know how to turn their tables!

Our friends got the half rack of ribs which completely fell off the bone and came very, very lightly coated in BBQ sauce but they did give a couple ramekins on the side.

I got a little taste of Fat Matt’s Rib Shack and I’ve been hooked. I’ll be back very soon with a much heartier appetite and will return to Good Eats Mundial with a more robust review. But my short time here was enough to make me confident to suggest this establishment to anyone and everyone who loves BBQ.

Have any of my readers visited Fat Matt’s before? What are your favorite items on the menu?

Leave a Reply

