South City Kitchen (Midtown)

South City Kitchen | Midtown
1144 Crescent Ave. NE
Atlanta, GA 30309

Phone
404-843-7358

Hours
Lunch
Mon-Fri 11 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Dinner
Mon-Thur
5 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Fri & Sat
5 p.m. – 10:30 p.m.
Sunday
5 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Brunch
Sat & Sun
11 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Reservations?
Yes

Last Sunday my Dad came into Atlanta for a conference. I immediately kidnapped him and decided we needed to have dinner at one more place I’ve been told so much about since moving down here. When he asked if I’d be writing about our dinner there (and I said yes) that was it…the gloves came off and we were all in.

We head on over to South City Kitchen and we were about a half hour early for our 7:30 p.m. reservation…we squeezed in (standing room only) at the bar as best we could, ordered a couple glasses of wine and started with the Fried Green Tomatoes ($8.50). Before the appetizer came out, we were being shown to our seats! Woo! Love it when they sit you early if they can!

I was half paying attention to these when I ordered them. I didn’t realize that they came with goat cheese and red pepper coulis. It was, without a doubt, delicious but part of me likes things simple. I would have loved this dish with or without the cheese and the sauce. Try them when you’re there. For $8.50 you can’t go wrong.

Next, I got the She-Crab soup ($5.50) and my Dad got the Braised Red Beets with smoked goat cheese, avocado, pink grapefruit and a roasted peanut pesto ($9). Our server Kandis swore by the beet salad and she was spot on. What a bizarre combination of flavors but they all somehow interlaced to make a satisfying and refreshing salad. The soup had great flavor but I wish there had been more crab in it.

The real highlight of the meal was the entrees. I went ahead and decided on the Buttermilk fried Springer Mountain Farms Chicken with garlic collards, smashed red bliss potatoes and a honey-thyme jus ($18).  I don’t know where South City Kitchen gets off cooking a plate of food like that. Holy hell. You know that scene in Ratatouille where Remy starts to see the flavors?! That was me. Eating this stupid chicken.  The outside crunched when you bit into it…the batter was crisp and not at all soggy (even with the jus). The chicken inside was incredibly moist. I’m no fried chicken expert but I don’t know how it gets any better than that.

My Dad ended up going with the Crisped Wild Tennessee Catfish with a spicy pork sausage dirty rice and remoulade ($19).  I’m not big into white fish, but catfish is wonderful because it’s thicker and meatier than say, the trout that they had on the menu. You need a fish like that to be able to support the thick, heavy fried coating. We pretty much spent the entire meal nodding at each other going “Yeah, this was worth it.”

The worst part of the night? I was so delirious from being full that I left my left overs on the table. I realized it when I was a block away. Normally I say “that’s too bad” and just keep going home. NOPE. NOPE I turned right around and ran right back. But it was too late. The table was cleared and the left overs were gone. It’s been four days and I’m still in mourning.

The overall service was phenomenal. The bartenders, hosts and our server Kandis were all attentive, informative but not overbearing (which is the worst).  If you’re looking for Southern food with a twist look no further than South City Kitchen. I’ll be back soon…there’s a whole lot of menu for me to get through!

Send us your thoughts over on Twitter (@_goodeats) and tell us about your experience at South City Kitchen!

Leave a Reply

