Alon’s Bakery

Alon’s Bakery
4505 Ashford Dunwoody Rd
Atlanta, GA

Ph: (678) 397-1782

Hours:
Monday – Friday 7 a.m. – 9 p.m.
Saturday 8 a.m. – 9 p.m.
Sunday 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.

I was so thrilled to be invited to take a tour of Alon’s Bakery with the Atlanta Food Bloggers Society! The theme was macarons! I have never had one before (I know, hold your gasps) and I have heard tales from my baker friends about how difficult they are to perfect. I was excited to have Chef Alon walk us through his process.

As I walked up to the entrance I could smell the bread baking. Ugh. All the carbs (in a good way)! There are tables and chairs outside, and when you walk inside there are plenty of places to sit, a café like area to the left and a coffee counter right in front of you.

We started off the night with some wine and a few appetizers: pear and radicchio bruschetta, a wild mushroom bruschetta and a cheese focaccia. Everything there is made from scratch every day and you could taste that was the truth as well.

Chef Alon began by describing what makes a great macaron (flaky outside, gooey inside) and the lesson began!

By the end of the night, we had made blackcurrant macarons from scratch. They were decadent. I hadn’t ever had blackcurrant before and I jumped at an opportunity to try it before he turned it into the gaunache filling. It was a perfect balance between sweet and tart all on its own, so when he mixed in the white chocolate, it was the perfect compliment.

He mentioned that when these cookies were first made in France for children…I don’t know how a cookie that can make me feel so many adult feelings could have originally been for kids.  All I wanted was to take a box of them home sit on my couch with them and a bottle of wine and call it a night. They were that good.

Chef Alon and his team make over 3,000 macarons a week, which is no surprise. As far as food trends go, macarons are up there with hipster foodies and fair weather bakers…but if and when the macaron bubble bursts, people will still be flocking to Alon’s Bakery for their perfectly made cookies. Food that is made from scratch with an abundance of care and consideration never ever goes out of style.

For videos of the cooking demonstration, find us on Instagram at: GoodEatsMundial

To see the thousand more pictures we took, visit us on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

