Therapy Coffee Bar & Lounge

Therapy Coffee Bar & Lounge
3145 Briarcliff Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30329

Ph: 404-320-2040

Hours
Monday – Friday 10 a.m. – 2:30 a.m.
Saturday 11 a.m. – 2:30 a.m.
Sunday 1 p.m. – 2:30 a.m.

I don’t know what it is about Atlanta. This city has some weird establishments. I mean, not terribly weird…just surprising. Maybe Atlanta isn’t what’s weird. Maybe I’m the one whose weird. I don’t know…but I digress.

Therapy Coffee Bar & Lounge is located in a tiny strip mall flanked by an Ethiopian restaurant, a Mediterranean restaurant and a Chinese take out place.

Before I get into my experience yesterday, let me just say that I can’t be the only person who is intimidated by little coffee shops. I mean sometimes there’s just a vibe like…they know I don’t listen to Beck on the regular and they hate me for it. A couple weeks ago I walked into this venue knowing it doubled as a bar and hookah lounge at night, but didn’t expect to see three men smoking hookah before noon on a weekday. They were all talking loudly before I walked in and were completely silent after I opened the door. It was obvious I had ruined the party. The woman behind the bar was friendly and made me a cup of iced coffee to go. My plan had been to hang out and work but the unwelcoming vibe from the only group of customers in there made me leave. I took a sip of my coffee and said, “Damn, that’s good coffee” and vowed to go back and try again and to not be such a pansy.

Yesterday was that day. I went in not caring that I was going to be ruining anyone’s party. Well, I must have come in on an off day a couple weeks ago. There were still people smoking hookah there before noon but they were happily chatting in a corner, while two men sat in the back smoking hookah discussing business. I took a seat and ordered a regular hot coffee and the chicken kebab. I didn’t realize before I ordered it, but Therapy Lounge has it worked out their customers can order food from the Mediterranean place or Ethiopian place next door. Not a bad deal.

The coffee, once again was delicious. Rich but not bitter. I didn’t need sugar and I always take sugar.

The waitress next door brought the food to me and I was stunned at the portion. They listed on the menu that the dish was $9 for lunch and $12 for dinner. There were two skewers of perfectly grilled onion, pepper and tomato and two skewers of chicken that was lightly drizzled in a yogurt sauce. The kebabs all sat on top of a bed of spinach and rice. I was so pleasantly surprised at the meal. Everything was flavorful and cooked to perfection. The chicken wasn’t dry and the vegetables actually tasted like they were grilled on a grill. It’s always the worst when a veggie has a grill mark and you taste it and realize…a wizard put those there because it sure as heck didn’t come from an open flame.

I spent the next couple of hours working feeling totally relaxed nursing my hot cup of coffee, surrounded by the smell of the hookahs. It was nice.

When the bill came, I notice they charged me $12 for my meal. I was a bit annoyed but didn’t bring it up. It just didn’t seem worth the fight. I paid and left.

Aside from this oversight, I will definitely be coming back to Therapy Coffee Lounge & Bar. Something about sitting in a booth with their delicious coffee and a hookah is just too appealing to pass up…and I want to give it another try when I don’t have my laptop out.

Leave a Reply

