Foodie Spotlight: Samantha Bearman

One of the reasons why I love food is that it one of the easiest ways to bring people together. More often than not, that connection happens around a dinner table. But in this day and age it can also happen all the way from Atlanta to beautiful, sunny, Santa Barbara.

Today’s Foodie Spotlight features Samantha Bearman, a dear friend and an amazing woman who has spent her life always taking it one step further. I’m always in awe of her relentless work ethic which has brought her around the world and back again. She seemed like the perfect person to feature on Good Eats: Mundial. Kick ass women for the win!

Samantha’s Contact Information

Website | Samantha Mae Photography

Facebook | Samantha Mae Photography

Twitter | @sambear805

Pinterest | Samantha Bearman 

image

Samantha Bearman

Tell the readers at Good Eats: Mundial a little about yourself!

My name is Samantha Bearman I am a Southern California native and have spent the last 7 years traveling, working, and studying between San Diego, Europe, The Middle East, and Kentucky. I enjoy volunteering, improv comedy, gardening, and cooking. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from San Diego State University and a Master’s of Public Health with an emphasis in Health Behavior from the University of Kentucky. I’ve worked in pre-natal health care, non-profit organizations and start-up companies and have always taken on the role of social media coordinator.

What do you do at MWQ PR?

I’m currently interning with MWQpr as their Assistant Account Executive, many of my responsibilities have been taking photos for new menu items, promoting the businesses, writing blog posts for the website, and creating a dialogue on Twitter with followers and potential followers, because if we aren’t connected yet, then you’re a potential follower!

image

MWQ PR

What is your favorite client of theirs to work with?

Every client of MWQpr is my favorite to work with! However I will say that it is nice to be associated with clients who can create delicious tastings that feed my soul and my pallet.

Do you think social media is an integral part of your food and wine clients success?

A strong social media presence is imperative to creating a buzz about any business, I think when it comes to food and wine it is essential because it is the new form of word of mouth advertising. People want to know what their girlfriends think, what their boyfriends think, and what their coworkers are thinking and experiencing at local business. Food and wine is meant to be enjoyed both with the atmosphere and the overall taste of the menu items.

How long have you been a photographer?

I’ve been a photographer since I was 16 years old, so close to 10 years. I have done culinary photography for several years and have had work featured on Tastetlv.com. Last year I moved from hosting my photos on wordpress.com to samanthamaephotography.com. I enjoy photographing couples because they have a spark and a love for each other that is just so organic and beautiful behind the lens. My camera is typically found around my neck on my many travels, be they local, national, or international.

image

Photo by Samantha Bearman.

What do you enjoy about culinary photography? What is challenging about it?

Something I truly enjoy about culinary photography is that the food does not talk back. Something that is challenging about culinary photography is that the food does not talk back. You have a lot of creative freedom to position the items however you feel is best, however with no feedback from the gnocchi or eggs sometimes you have to play around a bit before you are truly blown away by the shot. Also this, maybe goes without saying, after a culinary photo shoot, eating the product is an enjoyable perk of the job!

image

Photo by Samantha Bearman.

If you could eat one dish for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Without a doubt, pasta! Every time I go to Italy, and I have been lucky enough to have been several times over the last 6 years, I look for the mom and pop restaurants and just enjoy their delicacies. Pasta makes me happy, and there are so many ways that pasta can be made, so many ingredients that can be added to the dish to enhance the taste, that I am always impressed and delighted by what gets placed in front of me. Also it is probably because growing up my mother’s spaghetti was my favorite comfort food, I used to ask her why hers was so much better than any restaurants, she would smile, give me a kiss on my forehead and say it was because she added some love. When I cook pasta, I make sure to go heavy on the love.

image

Photo by Samantha Bearman.

image

Photo by Samantha Bearman.

The two pictures above were taken at The Santa Barbara Pasta Shoppe, LLC.

In addition to being featured on TasteTLV Samantha’s photography was featured on Vino Travels. 

To check out more of her photography make sure you visit her website: Samantha Mae Photography.

* * * 

Please be sure to also check out the great organizations and companies Samantha has worked with:

MWQ PR | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest 

The Pasta Shoppe | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

TasteTLV | Facebook | Twitter 

* * * 

If you or someone you know would like to be featured in our Foodie Spotlight, send us an email at goodeatsatlanta@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

