Alma Cocina

Alma Cocina
191 Peachtree Street NE
Atlanta, GA 30303

Ph: 404–968-9662

Lunch:
Monday – Friday 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Dinner:
Sunday – Thursday 5 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Friday – Saturday 5 p.m. – 11 p.m.

I recently started a new job in downtown Atlanta (side note: yay!) and the first thing I did was set out to find a lunch destination that was a bit more refined than Chic-Fil-A (sorry, not sorry).

Alma Cocina is a name I’ve heard tossed around…it’s a part of the Fifth Grouper restaurant group which includes South City Kitchen (review here), Ecco, Lure, La Tavola Trattoria and The Original El Taco.

I am always nervous about trying restaurants out for lunch. There’s nothing worse than feeling like you’re going to end up fired because some place advertises lunch and yet takes over an hour to get it to you.

I walked in to Alma around 12 o’clock – prime lunch hour. There was plenty of room at the bar but the dining room was quite packed. I took a seat and was promptly greeted by my super friendly and up beat bartender.

In my opinion lunch should only take between a half hour and 45 minutes. Most offices either grant 30 minute or an hour breaks, so that time frame expectation seems reasonable to me. I noticed they had a “rapido” lunch menu so I ordered the following meal combinations:

Chicken Breast Milanesa Torta with pickled peaches, piquillo peppers, arugula and ghost chile aioli  with a side of plantain chips and a diet coke.

Total: $10

Now, from the pictures above you can see the portions were not skimpy. I have no idea why anyone would spend $8 on a meal at Chic-Fil-A when they could spend $10 and get what I did!

The sandwich was a huge surprise. The chicken was perfectly cooked, insanely crunchy on the outside and moist inside. The combination of sweet, spicy and savory was a treat from start to finish and the plantain chips were the perfect substitute for fries or chips. They were a perfect compliment to my sandwich without making me feel guilty for inhaling them all.

From start to finish, I was done in 40 minutes…and that was me taking my time eating and also having a catch up call with my best friend from home!

The bartender was prompt and attentive without making me feel rushed, the food was awesome and the price was definitely right. Needless to say, I’ll be back for lunch and very much look forward to returning after 5 p.m. when I can try grown up drinks and maybe one of their FOUR different ceviches!

I’ll be sure to let you all know if I’m equally impressed with dinner. Although if lunch is anything to go by, I’m not worried.

Leave a Reply

