The Spence

The Spence
75 Fifth St. NW
Atlanta, GA 30308

Hours |

Lunch: Monday – Friday  11:30 a.m. – 2 p.m.
Dinner: Monday – Thursday 5:30 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Friday – Saturday 5 p.m. – 11 p.m.
Sunday 5:30 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Bar Opens Daily at 5 p.m.

This past Wednesday I joined the Atlanta Travel Massive group for their bi-monthly meet up at The Spence.

Travel Massive connects thousands of people around the world to meet, learn and collaborate in the online travel industry. This meet up was organized by my friend (and former Foodie Spotlight feature) Caroline Eubanks of Caroline in the City and This is My South.

It was a phenomenal opportunity to meet new people, especially in this field. Traveling has been (and always will be) a huge influence in my life. Most notably we had the chance to hear from Jason Seagle and his business partner speak about their new venture called VAYANDO. From their website:

Vayando is a community-driven tool connecting travelers with micro-entrepreneurs in emerging economies around the world. We promote households that have interest and motivation in sharing local knowledge, activities, experience, and skills with those visiting their area. Travelers get a homegrown experience while local entrepreneurs gain opportunity to build their own small business.

It was really a phenomenal concept that I can’t wait to watch grow and succeed! Be sure to check them out on Facebook and their website.

Now on to the venue!

I wasn’t planning on coming to this event to write a review to be completely honest, but after experiencing the food and service I couldn’t help myself!

The décor is pretty standard for most super trendy restaurants these days. Exposed kitchen, open spaces, metal and wood architecture. It’s like Restoration Hardware threw up in there and then your hipster girlfriend showed up and decorated it with her kitchy “flea market finds” that actually just came from Anthroplogie.

I walked through an outdoor patio to enter the venue and immediately wished we were going to be outside for this event! It’s a great space that allows you to enjoy being outside without being on the street.

We were then shown back to a private room that can be closed off by massive curtains or left open to be a part of the restaurant. Our servers that evening were on point. No one was without a drink in their hand for less than 30 seconds (heyyyy) and the passed apps were brought out in a cadence that was not overwhelming but also didn’t leave you ravenous and wondering where they had disappeared to. Some of the passed apps included a beet tartare, fried pimento cheese puffs and raw oysters on the half shell. Every single one I ate was so incredibly delicious. I have never been anywhere where the passed apps were that good!

I mean seriously when is the last time you had a passed app that has made you want to go back to actually try an entire meal? I feel like passed apps are the ugly step children of food…thrown together on a tray just to keep drunken partiers or conference go-ers from passing out.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. The head chef is none other than Richard Blais, one of the winners of “Top Chef All-Stars.”

What can I say, I like keeping low expectations…it always makes the surprises just that much better. What I’m intrigued about is that their menu often changes daily since they use local and fresh ingredients. They also try to reflect what they’re “into at the moment” whether it’s an ingredient, band, chef or current event.

If I hadn’t had tried their food for myself you might see me rolling my eyes…but they know what they’re doing and I can’t wait to make a return there some time very, very soon.

Apologies for the picture quality. We had some camera issues so the pictures are not the best quality. However we didn’t want to post a review without any pictures, as we think even the blurry ones give you a good idea of what we were working with!

Leave a Reply

