Studio No. 7 | Bar + Lounge

Studio No. 7
393 Marietta Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30313

Hours |

Tuesday – Thursday 5 p.m. – 12 a.m.
Friday – Saturday 5 p.m. – 2 a.m.

Warning: This post might get a wee bit sentimental. But I promise to make up for it with lots of pictures of delicious food.

I moved to Atlanta in February. I had never been here (the city or the state) before I moved. I came with a few boxes and a ton of baggage. This might have been the hardest seven months of my life. There are times when it gets so hard I think about giving up and heading straight home to Boston. But then, there are nights like tonight where everything clicks and it just feels like…yeah Atlanta could be my place for a while.

Studio No. 7 is an art gallery/lounge/test kitchen that opened about two months ago. They invited us in to test some of their new fall menu items. What I really enjoyed about this venue was that every aspect of it was curated by the owners for their visitors. The artwork, the menu, the furniture, the events, the music (which sometimes takes them three weeks to finalize music for a single night!) – everything is thoughtfully crafted to create an engaging and inviting environment. I’ll be back for some of their art openings, but I think their food tonight was a phenomenal representation of how well their concept is executed.

image

Studio 7 door.

This space is unsuspecting from the outside, but when you walk in it’s huge! First there is a bar to your right, then as you walk in further, you walk there’s a bar in front of you that sits behind a large lounge area. You can then walk up some stairs where there’s a communal table and couches that look out a massive door that I think may have been a loading dock.  Already the ambiance made me want to hang out for a few hours!

image

View from the upper level we were seated on.

image

The amazing open wall.

image

Did I mention they also do movie nights?

From their website:

The TEST KITCHEN is a signature piece of Studio No. 7 offering a delicious array of small plate treats. At our core the culinary concept is Latin American and Asian street food inspired. Our menu coincides with the current exhibit in the gallery or is an exhibit of its own.  This allows the culinary and dining experience to remain fresh and inventive.  Regardless of the concept that is being explored, you can expect quality dishes paired with brilliant cocktails.

Everything – I kid you not – every single damn dish they served was out of this world. I couldn’t believe that each dish got better than the last. That never happens! There’s always ONE dish I’m MEH about. But that wasn’t the case. Everyone seemed to agree.

Here’s a look at what we sampled.
Please note: we were given sample sizes of each dish – so yours won’t look like this when you go! You can expect to get a bit more. They also have entree sizes.

image

The elote en vaso: charred corn, coconut cream, cotija cheese, habanero, lime zest, smoked paprika, portuguese sea salt – everyone devoured theirs!

image

Tomato Saffron Soup served with a Venezuelan cheese breadstick (known as tequeños). The soup was perfect. Creamy and not too acidic. Also one of those tequeños is not enough. Never fear, you can order them three at a time on the menu!

image

Shrimp and yucca; loaded mashed yucca, tomato braised shrimp, house made chorizo. Uhm. STFU RIGHT THIS MINUTE. Honestly, I had no idea yucca could be good. Whenever I’ve had yucca it’s been…yucka (trololol) but this was spot on. I licked the plate. Whatever.

image

Mini Quesadillas – teeeeeny tiny in size HUGE in flavor. House made scallion flour tortillas, seared veggies, pesto, cheddar, black beans, love.

image

“Don’t Trouble Me” – named as such because when I’m drinking this I’m gonna need you to “SHHHHH.” Blackwell rum, thai basil, lime juice, ginger beer.

Not pictured? The Thai Beef and fried rice…because I ate it so fast I forgot to take a picture. Hah.

image

image

“Festival” – named as such because that’s what’s going to be happening in your mouth. Or your pants. That’s how good they were. Fried cornmeal doughnut, powdered sugar, butter rum sauce and that’s all you need to take you to that next level. Super crunchy on the outside, light and fluffy on the inside…not to sweet or oily. Little balls of heaven.

 

I cannot wait to get back to Studio No. 7. I highly suggest checking their website or Facebook page for updates on upcoming events!

Disclaimer – I was invited as a member of the Atlanta Food Bloggers’ Society to enjoy a complimentary meal in exchange for an honest and transparent review. The above review is 100% my own opinion and is no way influenced by the restaurant. 

Leave a Reply

