Foodie Spotlight: Chef Suzanne Vizethann

Why do just one Foodie Spotlight when you can do two?!

This weekend is Taste of Atlanta and we jumped at the chance to ask Chef Suzanne Vizethann a few questions before the event. In addition to nurturing people through food by use of sustainable, local ingredients – we’d also like to throw out there that she was named champion on Food Network’s Chopped.

Boss.

We cannot wait to see what this force in the kitchen has in store for us this weekend!

Buttermilk Kitchen
4225 Roswell Road NE
Atlanta, GA 30342

Ph: 678.732.3274

Facebook | Twitter

Photo from ButtermilkKitchen.com

Have you faced challenges in your career as a woman in a notoriously male dominated industry? What would be your advice to other young women hoping to break the glass ceiling in the food industry?

Suzanne Vizethann (SV): Yes, of course! It has been challenging, but I honestly think it just made me work harder.  I also think when you are really passionate about something (as I am) it’s hard to fail.  My advice to other young women would be to work hard and learn how to be tough.

What is your favorite dish to make when you’re at home?  

My favorite dish to make when I am at home is pan-roasted chicken with salsa verde or my dad’s spaghetti with fresh pasta.

Who (or what) do you draw your inspiration from when you’re in the kitchen?  

As simple as it sounds, most of my inspiration comes from local produce we receive at the restaurant.  I love utilizing vegetables in unique ways, i.e. making Swiss chard dumplings or squash onion rings.

Photo from ButtermilkKitchen.com

What is your favorite place to eat in Atlanta (outside of your own restaurant of course!)?  

I love the Kimball House, BoccaLupa and Rosebud.

What are you looking forward to the most at this year’s Taste of Atlanta?

I am looking forward to the Friday night kickoff party! I had a really good time last year and thought it was a great turnout.

Photo from ButtermilkKitchen.com

Leave a Reply

