Buttermilk Kitchen

Buttermilk Kitchen
4225 Roswell Road Northeast
Atlanta, GA 30342 | 678.732.3274

Parking |Yes
Hours | Tuesday – Friday 8 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Saturday – Sunday 8 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

First and foremost, I’d like to dedicate this review to my GPS – Mz. Garmin. That raggedy hot mess brought me all sorts of half ass backwards ways around Atlanta, but eventually got me to where I wanted to go. Thanks. I guess.

I’d like to think my natural state of cynicism means that you can trust my reviews. It’s not that I can’t be impressed. It’s that when I am impressed you know it’s a pretty solid endorsement.

I got to Buttermilk early, around 9 a.m. (they start weekend brunch at 8 a.m.) and decided to take a seat at the bar versus getting a table. The inside is so adorable I wanted to make fun of it for hours. I mean…this place is country kitchen meets hipster paradise meets my Mom’s kitchen. The hostesses seemed to be able to get out of the wait staff uniform, which are denim shirts and bowties. The ladies don’t wear bowties but they do look like Taylor Swift doppelgangers. Okay, not all of them. Just one.

image

I loved these flowers so much.

 

Needless to say, I was in love with the place. And bitter. I don’t like falling in love so quickly. Taylor Swift should write a song about Buttermilk Kitchen.

Anyways.

I was quickly greeted and offered coffee (yesssssss, please) and then spent a good 10 minutes struggling over the menu. It wasn’t fair. The struggle wasn’t even between two things; it was between all items on the menu. Pumpkin pancakes with candied pepitas, mascarpone and cognac ganache? Or maybe the basic two eggs, biscuit and breakfast potatoes? Then again there’s the chicken biscuit with house pickles and roasted red pepper jelly that I have been coveting from a distance for ages.

image

The brunch menu.

 

I went with the two eggs (I take mine over easy), a biscuit and breakfast potatoes. I figured if I couldn’t make up my mind I might as well stick to basics.

image

My breakfast – fried eggs, biscuit & hashbrowns.

 

Now, Buttermilk Kitchen actually has a mission statement and I love it:

Buttermilk Kitchen’s mission is to nurture people through food by use of sustainable, local ingredients. A kitchen where most everything is made in-house from scratch, paying tribute to its name, “buttermilk” which refers to the liquid utilized after butter was churned; carrying out the philosophy of letting nothing go to waste.

We use local and organic products whenever possible and always the highest quality seasonal ingredients available.

We proudly feature Holeman & Finch artisan bread, Batdorf & Bronson coffee, fresh dairy products, cage-free eggs, local and organic produce, all-natural preservative free meats, local grass-fed sausage, and other products of the finest quality.

My food came out freaky fast to the point of suspicion. I bit into a potato thinking, “if it came out this fast it probably wasn’t freshly made” and proceeded to embarrass myself in front of my server. It was so hot. Not hot like, in the microwave hot. Hot like, out of the oven hot. The outside of the potato was crunchy and the inside fluffy…it was so good. Schooled by a potato. 10+ life points to my server for pretending like he didn’t witness all of this happen.

The potatoes were tasty, salty (the right amount) and rosemary-y. If you’re not a fan of rosemary maybe go for the grits instead.

My eggs made me want to hug the guy next to me. I don’t pretend to be able to taste the difference between cage-free vs caged eggs. I don’t even know if it’s supposed to affect the taste or it’s just a nice way to let the damn chickens live. But for a simple egg, it was so tasty. They weren’t swimming in oil or grease, which can always bring a breakfast to a screeching halt.

The biscuit was perfect and made me second-guess my choice…maybe I should have just gone for the chicken and biscuit. I could have put butter or jam or honey on this thing but I chose to just eat it as is. It was so flaky and so buttery inside I didn’t want to mask its taste with anything else.

image

Biscuit lovin’.

 

Aside from the food, which was great – I really appreciated the fact that the atmosphere here was light. You think you’d be greeted with this really uptight feeling just because it sort of looks like a hipster paradise but everything and everyone is so relaxed. People aren’t there to make an event out of brunching in the way that has sort of given brunch this bad reputation. They’re simply there to eat really, really good food with friends and family.

image

Mason jars for days. Obviously.

Oh, and my favorite part? My server somehow knew that I was going to need a coffee to go. It’s the little things like that that will set you apart from other establishments. I took him up on the offer and left Buttermilk Kitchen feeling well fed and GOOD. I wasn’t bogged down by grease ridden, heavy processed breakfast food. I left feeling full and energized. I don’t know if I’ve ever felt that way leaving a restaurant before. I’ve spent a lot of time in Atlanta, Los Angeles, Providence and Boston trying to find a breakfast place that I could say was my “favorite.” I can say without hesitation that Buttermilk Kitchen is my first (in all of my 20 odd years of eating out) favorite breakfast place.

I’ll be back, and I’m coming for that chicken biscuit.

image

The view from the bar.

Leave a Reply

