Christophe’s To Go

I’m sure some of you have seen by now that I’m not shy when it comes to how I feel about “food snobbery.” I mean, there was this gem that got the attention of foodies & Kardashian lovers a like. But for those of you who don’t know: I loathe it.

I will never give anyone crap about ordering Papa John’s or Chinese food from their not so great but closer than the Thai place Chinese restaurant down the road. I do it sometimes. It is what it is.

HOWEVER – more often then not I’m making these decisions based on connivence and availability, not so much that I just adore take out food and I’m always hyper aware of the fact that what I’m eating just…isn’t that good for you. I wish there was another option.

Enter: CHRISTOPHE’S TO GO stage right.

image

Hmm. This looks familiar!

So here’s the deal. Christophe’s is a complete life saver. Sure, their site may pitch it as meals to go for people who can’t cook/don’t like to cook/don’t have the patience. But I think it’s also great for those of us who get SO BUSY that they don’t have the time to cook. I *love* being in my kitchen for an hour but sometimes I have three blog entries to catch up on and I don’t really feel like getting to bed at 1 a.m.

So here’s how it works:

Christophe’s To Go has a menu of different dishes that are a combination of the following:

  • Never frozen
  • Gluten free
  • Paleo friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Curated by a French Michelin Star Chef (Chef Christophe! Duh.)

You can either pick up your dishes in store, you can order them ahead of time and have them dropped off at any of their cooler locations (for ex: if your gym has a Christophe’s To Go cooler, you can order ahead of time, they’ll drop it off in the cooler & you can pick it up on your way out of the gym) or you can order delivery!

image

A view of the cold case inside their store.

Each package is completely recyclable and also are safe to go in your oven or microwave (sans the top, obviously. I can’t even believe I have to say that but I’m not going to get sued when you messes melt plastic in your oven).

image

The to-go containers.

So here’s what I sampled & my thoughts:

Salmon on top of spinach topped with a mango chutney with a half tomato and half onion which were roasted:

The heating instructions were a bit off – all of the dishes are a bit under what they should really be to stop people from accidentally burning their food or over heating, which is really quite smart.

Of course what did I do? Over heated it. I’m not even sure how I dress myself in the morning sometimes, I swear. Anyways, this caused the fish to be a bit over done but it was still okay with the rest of the sides. The portion was the “medium” size – enough for 1…but I didn’t find it to be enough for me. So I actually heated up half of the curried cauliflower to go with it. That was a perfect combination and the cauliflower was out of this world. So delicious. I could have eaten that hot or cold.

image

The salmon dish.

image

Curry cauliflower.

image

I cleaned my desk just for all of you!

They recently changed up their menu so you can’t get the salmon anymore…but you can still get the cauliflower! So do it. Don’t be a fool.

The next day I had the Eggplant Parm for lunch. This medium portion was absolutely perfect for lunch. I didn’t burn it this time (gold star!) and I was surprised at how much I liked it.

Let me just…throw this out there: my grandmother’s eggplant parm is legendary. It’s so %#!*&$& good that when I was 16 and had jaw reconstruction my Mother and I experimented a few times until we figured out how we could BLEND THE DAMN EGGPLANT PARM SO I COULD DRINK IT THROUGH A STRAW. OKAY? THAT’S HOW MUCH I LOVE HER EGGPLANT PARM. I TAKE THIS SERIOUSLY. DON’T YOU DARE OFFER ME EGGPLANT PARM IF IT’S NOT SOMETHING I’M GOING TO LOVE SO MUCH I WANT TO BLEND IT SO I CAN DRINK IT THROUGH A STRAW DAMMIT.

For that reason, I usually plan on hating any other versions that I try. 95% of the time I do. But Christophe’s held up. The sauce had great flavor, the cheese was at the perfect amount and I liked that they didn’t bread and fry the eggplant. It was indulging without feeling guilty.

Last but not least, was the Chicken Coq au Vin. I had this dish for dinner the following night and it was by far my favorite entree of the three. The flavors were super complex and delicious, the size (medium) was perfect for one.

So I’m sure you have some thoughts so let me just go ahead and answer them:

  • No, there’s no preservatives. Nothing’s ever frozen and at most there’s three lines of ingredients. Love that.
  • No, the food doesn’t have that weird gross taste that reheated food has sometimes. Maybe Chef Christophe is actually a wizard.
  • “But XYZ is cheaper” – not it’s not. Don’t play. Foodler usually has a $20 minimum plus tax, plus tip, plus delivery. For that amount of money I had two dinners and a lunch.
  • Yes, it’s okay to put this food on plates and pass it off to your date as home cooked. We won’t tell.
  • Yes, they have other things to offer…home made rubs for poultry (nom), gelato, bread, pasta sauces – a huge variety.

Regretting that I didn’t pick up some of this deliciousness.

The “Smoked Beehive Spice.”

If you have any questions about Christophe’s To Go make sure you visit their website and be sure stop in one of their stores. The staff is extremely friendly and would be happy to help you out. My location is the Brookhaven one. Hey guys!

https://www.christophestogo.com/

Disclaimer: Christophe’s To Go provided me with the samples for my honest opinion of my experience. How do you know my opinion is honest? I didn’t just “over heat” the salmon, I brought it back to life and killed it all over again…then cursed it, then ate it. WOMP. Whoops!

Leave a Reply

