Wine Wednesday: Clos du Val

Wine Wednesday with Good Eats: Mundial

Wine Wednesday with Good Eats: Mundial

I normally loathe alliterations with my food, but I wanted to feature wines I love with all of my readers. Now we have Wine Wednesday’s. It couldn’t be helped. I’m not sorry.

This Wednesday we’re looking at a 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon from Clos du Val. 

Image from closduval.com.

Image from closduval.com.

Today's Wine Wednesday feature is a 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon.

Today’s Wine Wednesday feature is a 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon.

I’ve had this wine twice in the past month. It was recommended to my Dad by a friend. He normally doesn’t follow people’s recommendations. He’s sort of like the Portuguese Ron Swanson. But for whatever reasons he decided to go for it and I’m glad he did. It’s delicious.

The texture is perfect for my personal taste in wine. It’s well rounded, smooth and full of really complex flavors like dark fruits and cedar (I picked those out myself! Yay me.).

This is probably my favorite red that I've had this summer. Pictured behind the wine: arugula, goat cheese, walnut and fig salad.

This is probably my favorite red that I’ve had this summer. Pictured behind the wine: arugula, goat cheese, walnut and fig salad.

Here are the flavor notes from the winery:

This wine delivers everything we are looking for from a great vintage. The color is an inky purple hue and the wine has aromas of black fruits, baking spices, dark chocolate and leather. The palate is rich and complex, full of flavors of berry pie, mocha, cedar, black pepper and vanilla toast. The texture is creamy, round and full with well structured tannins that are approachable now or will cellar well for decades.

The bottle is listed at a retail price of $38 on their website, however we were able to find ours for around $24 at our local liquor store.

It might be a bit pricey for my 20-something readers, but I promise you it’s worth it. Although I’ve only had it with dinner, this is a wine I would pair with a giant chocolate cake when I’m feeling some sort of way. It’s decadent and sexy as hell. It’s definitely been added to my list of favorite affordable reds.

Leave us a comment, Tweet us or Facebook us! Let us know what you think of our selection and if you have a wine you think we should try.

Signature

Leave a Reply

