Improv Atlanta

Atlanta Improv | Comedy Club & Dinner Theater
56 E Andrews Dr NW
Atlanta, GA 30305

Ph: 678-244-3612
E-mail: info@theimprovatlanta.com

Hours: Depends on the show! Check out upcoming shows here.

I didn’t realize I loved comedy clubs until I moved to Hollywood and had my first experience at The Laugh Factory. Some of the comedians I saw that night had me in tears (in a good way) and some were just plain terrible. I loved the whole thing. So I absolutely jumped at the opportunity to check out Atlanta native Andy Sandford at Atlanta Improv as well as try some of their menu.

When you walk in you tell the host how many are in your party and they promptly bring you into a gorgeous dining room packed with beautiful mahogany (?) tables in front of a stage against a ‘brick’ background. There isn’t such a thing as a bad seat in the house, promise!

About the food:

Doors open an hour before the 8 p.m. show – so if you want to eat before the show you can. However every time I’ve gone I’ve ended up ordering a couple minutes before the show starts and eating through it.

From what I experienced tonight (and the last time I was there earlier this month) you need to keep an open mind when experiencing both the comedian and the food! As far as the food goes – you’re going to get everything you ordered but it’s not going to come out in any comprehensible order. Unfortunately I had the same server tonight that I did the last time – so I don’t know if this was him or the norm of the venue in general.

On our table:

  • Wings – Medium
  • Improv Nachos – Tortilla chips topped with ancho-chicken, roasted peppers, garlic lime grilled chicken, sweet corn, cheese sauce, cheddar cheese, sour cream, pico de gallo, jalapenos and scallions
  • Spinach Dip – four cheese with tortilla chips
  • Spicy Memphis Burger
  • Buckhead Burger
  • Grilled Lamb Pops – lamb chops, blackberry balsamic reduction, wild mushroom polenta

You can check out the rest of the menu here.

The wings were great – I like dry wings over ones that are sopping wet in sauce and the chicken was all white and not terrifying. And don’t act like you don’t know what a terrifying chicken wing looks like. You know.

The nachos are not for the faint of heart. You can split them between two people but you’re probably better off splitting them between four or more. They’re delicious but even our table of 6 couldn’t eat it all knowing we had so much more food coming.

I would pass on the spinach dip next time around. All I could taste was spinach and no cheese…it was kind of like eating cream of spinach with tortilla chips. I wasn’t too disappointed though…like I said, there were a TON of delicious nachos still available.

My burger was great – two pork patties topped with pulled pork, coleslaw and pickles. Excessive? Maybe. Delicious? Absolutely.

My friend said he liked his Buckhead Burger and I did manage to snag a bite of the lamb. It was cooked really well – it melted in my mouth and had a great flavor.  I was surprised to find lamb done that well there. I say that because let’s be real – at any venue like this you have to wonder, what do they consider themselves first and foremost? A comedy club or a restaurant? Thankfully, Atlanta Improv decided not to pick one over the other and just do BOTH things extremely well.

In addition to what I mentioned above there are salads, wraps, sushi and other dishes that I can’t wait to come back and try!

The show:

Andy Sandford was perfect. I really needed a laugh this week and he totally delivered. Of course, I can’t speak to any past or future performers but here are some rules of thumb for Improv Atlanta and you know, life:

When they say no phones – they mean it. Don’t be a tool. 

Andy didn’t call anyone out but I did watch Jeff Ross call a woman out three times before throwing her out of his show and calling her a not so nice word. It started with a C and ended in a “WHOAAAA!”

Stand-up comedy isn’t a concert. They deserve your attention and respect. So put down the damn phone. You’re not subtle. If I can see you, the comedian can see you. With that said:

That’s why I don’t have pictures of my food. Honestly if I’m telling you it’s good food I hope you trust me and go try it for yourself! Do you really need another picture of a plate of nachos?  If I can’t convince you without pictures I’m a shitty blogger.

I really hope I’m not a shitty blogger.

Be Flexible.

I say this because I’m an uptight mess – but I learned that at any comedy club (not just this one) you need to be able to go with the flow. No, you can’t move your seat. Yes, you might get apps and entrees at the same time. And yeah, waiters are moving around you during the show. Just chill. Have a drink (I suggest the Laugh Out Loud) and enjoy!

There is a two drink minimum.

If you have a problem with this I don’t know what you’re doing at a comedy club. Go home you wet blanket! Kidding! Sort of. If you really can’t or don’t drink I’m sure there are ways around this…and by ways around this I mean ask your server if two plates of nachos can count instead 😉

Both times I have really, really enjoyed my time at Atlanta Improv. Checking their line up has now become a part of my weekend routine for sure.

Honestly, I think this would be a great first date location…or any date. Or any time. I just really like Improv Atlanta. Kudos to them for doing the comedy club/dinner experience the right way. I can’t wait to come back!

Disclaimer: I was invited to attend today’s show and have my meal comped in exchange for an honest and transparent review of my experience tonight.

How do you know I’m being honest and transparent you ask?

I was too nice up there. What I should have said was: DO NOT ORDER THE SPINACH DIP FOR REAL.

Leave a comment